What we did in June

18 July 2010

My DIY hero husband has spread the latest news, but we have been busy with lots of things and a catch up is well overdue. Me, I have been out and about quite a bit, meeting people and going places. Rolf has been busy at work, he is trying to accomplish everything that he is supposed to get done and I think he would ideally need 48 hour days and the ability to survive without sleep. I reckon there are lots of people out there who can empathize with him.

Anyway, we had a wonderful trip to Provence in three weeks ago to celebrate Rolf’s birthday. We went camping about 40km south of Orange to a place called L’Isle sur la Sorgue, which has also been called the Venice of Provence. This is quite an exaggeration. The soil the town stands on was claimed from marshland centuries ago and the water channeled in a few small canals running through the town, but there are NO boats with singing gondoliers.

L'isle sur la Sorgue, not Venice


L’Isle sur la Sorguea pretty little market town with lots and lots of antique shops selling mostly furniture. Oh, sometimes I wished we had not fully furnished the apartment, there was such lovely furniture and the prices were so much cheaper than in Lyon. I could have gone on a terrible spree. Luckily I had my family there to keep me sane.
L’Isle sur la Sorguehas a super Ice cream parlour too, we had lunch there.

Icecream + sunshine = happiness

Did I mention the heat? I guess we all have our fair share of scorching summer weather this year, so maybe there is no need. We refreshed ourselves with a trip to La Fontaine de Vaucluse, the source of the river Sorgue. What a beautiful place!

La Fontaine de Vaucluse. Makes you want to go skinny dipping, unfortunately the place was full of other tourists and the water was freezing cold

We loved being in Provence, although being inland, both Linus and I missed the seaside a bit. I would love to go to the Côte d’Azur in September or October time, when all the other tourists have left.
Do you remember that there was some sort of football event in the recent past? We unfortunately missed the game Germany vs England because we did not get home in time. Ah, what a pity!!! We listened to it on the radio on the way home … But I guess you can’t have it all.

With the end of June, beginning of July, our children finished their first year at school in France. How quickly that went! Lucy had a great year and glowing report, for Linus this year was a pretty mixed bag with a surprisingly good report at the end. We’re all awaiting with suspense the things that will happen in September, when the new proviseur will be taking over. This time round, I do not expect strikes, I have already heard that this man will be good. But in the meantime we’re enjoying the summer. This year it’s particularly good for me, because I don’t have to go to work, but can spend the time with the children and don’t have to worry about childcare and fitting in our summer plans into two short weeks as was the case in the past six years. At the moment I so enjoy being unemployed, it has its advantages!

Leave a Reply

