I’ve got a tandem partner

31 October 2009

It’s Rolf again. Yes, I’m still around, and still affected by a bad bout of busy-ness. That hasn’t stopped me from signing up for a tandem course, though. This is an offering from the Goethe Institut in Lyon. If you’re a native speaker of German wanting to learn French, they’ll find a partner for you who happens to be in the opposite place. You meet that partner on a weekly basis and spend half of your time speaking French and half speaking German. I’ve only spoken to Michel on the phone so far, but that was a good start. We spoke French on that occasion, and he already did a good job correcting mine. He reckons that his German is worse than my French, and that’s saying something, so I’ve got a challenge ahead of me… We’ll have our first session tomorrow. If it all goes well, I’ll improve my French rapidly and my recently-neglected coaching skills, too! Will keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

