Confessions and musings

11 October 2009

It’s Birgit again…. We have now hopefully put the ID theft saga behind us, we haven’t had more mobile phone contracts or invoices from online shops come through. This ID theft was by far the most worrying experience we have had in the last few weeks, what’s a broken washing machine or toilet for that matter compared to that? At least you know what you are dealing with when your appliances or plumbing go haywire, but with ID theft, you just have no idea who is messing round with your life and what is going to happen next.  I keep my fingers crossed that this is the end of it, but I am always this little bit apprehensive when I pick up the post. Thank goodness we decided to have our mail forwarded from Britain, otherwise we had not known about this at all.

But putting this aside, we had a lovely weekend and I can’t believe it’s Sunday night again. We’ve done nice things such as go into the center of Lyon on Saturday to do some shopping in a lovely bookshop on Place Bellecour. This being a very strenuous activity, we had to rest a little in a wonderful cafe – Pignol. They make fantastic fancy little cakes and delicious macaroons, along with a mean coffee. And there you go, first confessions. I have developed addictions since we moved to Lyon. It’s sad but it’s true. I am back on the caffeine and I have about one cup of coffee per day! This all came about on our journey from Britain to Lyon, I was so tired at some point that I had to take drugs, i.e. a little cafe creme, to keep me going. And boy, this kept me going! All those of you who know me will be aware that I have stayed clear of caffeine over the last 8 or 9 years and I have to say the French coffee, being at least as strong as an Italian espresso, gets me going and sometimes makes me feel…. weird. I’ve had days when I had one of those tiny little innocent looking coffees and boy, my hands were trembling, my legs were shaking, I broke out in a sweat and went hot and cold. Should I be drinking coffee then? Probably not, but hey, it does wake me up, even if I pay for this with severe physical reactions. But this is not the only vice I have picked up since I entered this country. I am now also terribly into chocolate eating. Oh, it’s awful, but a great stress buster. I reckon I will be able to cut down soon, but then, Christmas is just around the corner and Lyon is full of temptation. All these chocolatiers and patissiers, all these gorgeous looking parcels containing lovingly decorated pralines… It’s too much for me. As if this wasn’t enough, I have also not carried on with regular exercise. I used to run quite frequently, and today is the first day I have been out for a run since we left the UK. The run today wasn’t even fun. I felt better afterwards, but it’s 2km of concrete jungle until you even get to the Rhone. It’s nice to run along the river, but even there it’s asphalt, and I don’t like running on that kind of surface, it feels so much harder on my joints than the footpaths I was used to in Ascot. I have to come up with a master plan to be able to run somewhere green. I will probably have to cycle either down to the Rhone, or, if I want proper green, the 6km up to Parc de la Tete d’Or. If I find the time this week, I’ll give that a try.

I won’t confess any more details about my gradual moral demise here in Lyon. I won’t tell you that I stay in bed until eight or nine in the mornings at the weekend (this will be shocking news to those in Ascot who have known me over the last 2 or 3 years 🙂  ), neither will I tell you that I currently have the ironing habits of a lady who has to make do without one of those appliances….But I can tell you that we had a lovely day out on the bikes today. We went to a large antiques and second hand market just outside of Lyon and had a good nose around. On our way home we took the detour via Parc de la Tete d’Or, had a very late lunch there and basked in the October sunshine. Yes, we are still wearing T-shirts here, but one also has to take a cardi now. I wonder when the cold will hit us. I am not looking forward to it.

For now I am mentally getting ready for the start of the week, tomorrow morning there is another networking opportunity at school: A coffee morning organised by the English section, then there is my library duty and my French homework to do. Ah, it’s a tough life. I haven’t even had time to fit in any work for my masters project. Not panicking yet, but that’s only a question of time… and more reason to eat chocolate, I suppose 😉

Leave a Reply

