We’re on strike again…

29 September 2009

…but luckily this time it’s not the school, but public transport here in Lyon: the buses and certain metro lines. This strike has been going on since last Thursday (including the weekend) and I feel sorry for all who are affected by it. We are fortunate enough not to be reliant on public transport at all, as we cycle, but a lot of people are struggling to get their children to school in the mornings. Trish, who is doing the French course with Iris and me had a very scary experience on the bus this morning. The bus she was on to get into town was suddenly attacked by an angry mob throwing eggs and potatoes. She came to class visibly shocked, it must have felt quite scary to be exposed to random violence like that. I hope the strike ends soon and things return to normal.

It’s cooling down in Lyon and I am not happy :(.   This morning it was 13 something degrees Celsius! And the leaves are starting to turn brown. Fortunately, the temperature went up to the mid-twenties during the course of the morning, but autumn is definitely on its way. I find it very hard to part with summer, I think I could do without winter. Luckily we have plans to go skiing with some people from school later in the year. I am looking forward to ski school, I bet it’s fun. (Although we will probably have to wear whole-body padding to avoid breaking our aging bones 🙂  ). The kids are very keen, too, and there seems to be a good place to do some very relaxed (beginners) skiing merely an hour’s drive from here. A mum from school tested the place last year, and I know at least two mums and children who want to join the party. I bet there will be more once winter arrives :).

I had my third French session today and although  it’s challenging, I am enjoying the course. Today I learned vocabulary related to household chores and cooking, how appropriate for me, the lady of leisure ;). I am thinking about writing all sorts of vocabulary on post it notes and sticking it to appliances and things. In fact, I get the children to write things down, so we all learn together. I have also very bravely – or maybe in a bout of sun-induced madness – asked our teacher to recommend some reading. He suggested a French author by the name of Le Clézio. Sabine, do you know this man?? I have already bought one of his novels (this is about Frida Kahlo and Diego Rivera) and I read the first two pages of the prologue without major problems. I have a feeling though that it will be quite an undertaking to finish reading this book – it looked very harmless: it is very light weight, small and thin,  but I only noticed after I’d bought it that it has >300 pages. That should keep me busy for a looooong time. May be I should have stuck to those children’s books? I let you know how get on with it.

I also had a brief introduction to the newspaper scene in France at the language school. I think I want to try to read Le Monde. Until today, I was not sure which paper to buy in this country, but this might be closest to ‘The Guardian’. I have so far not found the Guardian on sale anywhere here, but I am sure I would get it at one of  the train stations. But since I have vowed to immerse myself mercilessly into the French language  (for a while anyway), I might just as well refrain from reading the Guardian until my French is better and stick with the national papers.

Time to cook dinner, and tomorrow, Lucy and I will attempt to make those yummy brioches with the recipe that Sabine kindly shared with us. It’s fab that Lucy has Wednesdays off, you get to do all sorts of nice things on that day.

One Response to “We’re on strike again…”

  1. Sabine Says:

    I think Le Monde is between The Guardian and the Times. But it’s a good one. If you want to listen to the radio (maybe still too hard ?), try France Inter, definitely the best one. For music, you can try FIP, music all the times, all styles, I really enjoyed it, or for just quick news, France Info. As they repeat the same news all the times, it could be easier to understand. Those are my favorites.


Leave a Reply

